top of page

Tortilla Recipe

It's the month for love, and who doesn't love tortillas? If you don't love tortillas, maybe you've never had a warm, fresh, homemade tortilla minus all the gross preservatives and industrial processes. Yes, I'm that kind of Mom.

We love to make fresh tortillas around our house, and this is our go-to recipe that my daughters and I came up with after trying several.

Ingredients:

3 cups flour

1 tsp baking powder

1 tsp salt

1 cup warm water

1/3 cup extra virgin olive oil

Directions:

Mix dry ingredients first to blend. I put them in my stand mixer with the dough hook and let it run a few times.

Add wet ingredients, and mix until dough forms. Again, I let my mixer (or children) do this work. Takes 5-10 minutes MAX.

Let the dough rest for about 10-15 minutes then come back and start dividing it in half. Then each of those halves in half, and so on and so forth, until you end up with 8-16 balls, depending on how large of tortillas you want.

Roll your tortillas out paper thin. As thin as possible. If you think they're too thin, they're probably not.

Heat your pan on a medium high heat, and when it's nice and hot begin cooking tortillas like pancakes, a couple minutes or less on each side, just enough to cook the dough.

Featured Posts
Archive
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page