top of page

The Lack of Relations @ Grocery Stores

You know what really grinds my gears?! Lol, no, but really...something that really bothers me about buying food from a grocery store...aside from the middle man cost, the preservatives, additives, and sprays.

I cannot stand the way the employees at our local Fry's bags groceries. I hate it so much I have developed a way around it, which only works some of the time because a good portion of the time there isn't even a bagger there until the pile of groceries is overwhelming! All I do is simple things like space out glass items, put breakables last, any cleaning supplies together, and meat together, and so on.

The problem boils down to 1 of 2 problems, far as I can see. There is either a total lack of common sense, or a total lack of care.

It does not take a rocket scientist to know you shouldn't put 5 heavy glass bottles of pasta sauce together in one thin bag. What makes me even more upset is when I successfully spread them out, and they eyeball em down the way and specifically grab them and fill the bag with glass on purpose. C'mon, Frys...

But tonight was the straw that broke the camels back. I can take most of this with a grain of salt, chalk it up to me being a picky person...but when they throw raw meat ontop of my infant babys snacks, well, I just couldn't help but coming totally unglued. What a waste. Organic baby food is not cheap.

I was so disturbed by this that I had to write to the company tonight and vent my total dissatisfaction, which was made worse by a "thank you!" auto response when I pushed submit. And that got me thinking...who did I just complain to? The air? The internet? Some person at a desk thousands of miles away from me who will never once have to look me in the eye?

That sucks.

This guy looks proud of his product...

And that's the beautiful thing about farmers markets. Not only are you decreasing your carbon footprint(think of all those trucks going to and from thousands of miles to transport those california avacadoes and florida orange juices), your supporting local farms and putting the power back in the hands of the people rather than faceless companies who are destroying our planet and our health with their shady practices and unsustainable agriculture methods.

Now, if you've never gone let me warn you that you can't get anything any time of year this way. It means eating seasonally, and locally. But there are some perks to this, including knowing where it came from, what it was fed, and many people swear local honey can help combat seasonal allergies. You will feel good when you are one with your environment; physically, mentally, and emotionally.

Mike keeps saying he wants to make the most of having this deep freezer. After tonight I am ready to go find a farmer to provide my meat, eggs, and dairy. Someone with a face. Someone infront of me. Well visit the store when we need more baking soda, washing soda, borax, and tolietries. Oi, and for formula. Need that.

But no more wasting money at the grocery store just to have to toss out groceries I just bought because they shattered against each other or were cross contaminated.

And with that, I say goodnight. My gears are un-grinded.

Featured Posts
Archive
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page